2003 Mahboob Khan Outstanding Mentor Award Winners


Will Conley
Will Conley of Motorola has worked with Professor Grant Willson group at UT-Austin for the past 3 years. He has chosen to interact directly with 11 students on a regular basis during the contract time period. He has arranged for multiple on and off campus experiences that provided a direct connection and alignment to the needs of the semiconductor industry. Thus preparing these students to excel in the "real world".
Larry Gochberg
Larry Gochberg of Novellus Systems has served as an Industry Liaison to the Optical Discharge Modeling Group at the University of Illinois/ Urbana-Champaign. This nomination was supported by Ronald Powell, of Novellus Systems, Mark Kushner of UIUC and former students Ron Kinder and Junqing Lu, now with Novellus Systems.
Hosam Haggag
Hosam Haggag a Senior Test Engineer of National Semiconductor has had a significant impact on a number of SRC researchers and students. His nomination was supported by Professors William Eisenstadt of the University of Florida, Abhijit Chatterjee of Georgia Tech., Alex Orailoglu of UC-San Diego, and Mani Soma of the University of Washington. He has arranged multiple student internships to develop design and test skills and to promote joint research interaction. His responsiveness to issues within our community is motivated by the desire for outstanding and useful results.
Mani Janakiram
Mani Janakiram of Intel is synonymous with the success of SRC's Factory Operations Research Center program. Also know as FORCe, the program includes University of Maryland's Michael Fu and Steven Marcus, University of Cincinnati's Emmanuel Fernandez, and UC-Berkeley's Lee Schuben. Mani has held a key and leading role in establishing an open forum within the SRC community to discuss, identify and prioritize industry needs in the broad area of factory operations.
Turker Kuyel
Turker Kuyel of Texas Instruments has worked with Professors Randy Geiger and Degang Chen at the Iowa State University for "A New Strategy for Built-In Self-Test of Mixed Signal Integrated Circuits". Turker supervised Iowa State student Kumar Parthasarathy during a summer internship that later resulted in Kumar accepting a permanent position at TI after graduation.
Pawitter Mangat
Pawitter Mangat of Motorola has worked with the Center for NanoTechnology at the University of Wisconsin for the past 6 years. His continued support to Professors Franco Cerrina, Roxann Engelstad, and Paul Nealey has been a key component for the success of the Advanced Lithography and Metrology research project.
Luu Nguyen
Luu Nguyen of National Semiconductor has teamed up with both Professor King-Ning Tu of UCLA and Professor Ganesh Subbarayan of Purdue University to provide an exceptionally high quality of scientific research that not only challenges the best out of himself and others, but also provides every possible help in achieving excellence in those around him.

4819 Emperor Blvd, Suite 300 Durham, NC 27703 Voice: (919) 941-9400 Fax: (919) 941-9450

Important Information for the SRC website. This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our cookies. If you are not happy with the use of these cookies, please review our Cookie Policy to learn how they can be disabled. By disabling cookies, some features of the site will not work.