2008 Technical Excellence Award

Rob Daasch

The 2008 Technical Excellence Award was presented to a team of researchers from Portland State University led by Professor W. Robert Daasch, and supported by students Liwei Ning (PhD 2009), and Amit Nahar (MS, 2006) for their research, "Burn-in Reduction: Improving Outlier Screening".

According to a nominator from IBM, this team is a pioneer in the area of "statistical analysis for outlier identification." This work has had "significant impact on testing & test data analysis within a member company."

According to an additional nominator, this research provided an outstanding example of technology transfer. After graduation, Mr. Nahir, became the "sole implementer of the core of the outlier engine that has now deployed into the production environment at Texas Instruments." This very powerful statistical analysis technique had an immediate impact at a member company.

Poster Presentation

The Technical Excellence Award is given annually to researchers who, over a period of years, have demonstrated creative, consistent contributions to the field of semiconductor research; who are ground-breakers and leaders in their fields; and who are regarded as model collaborators with their colleagues in the GRC member community. The Award is shared among researchers who have made key contributions to technology that significantly enhance the productivity of the semiconductor industry. The award consists of a $5,000 cash award which is divided equally among the research contributors.

4819 Emperor Blvd, Suite 300 Durham, NC 27703 Voice: (919) 941-9400 Fax: (919) 941-9450

Important Information for the SRC website. This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our cookies. If you are not happy with the use of these cookies, please review our Cookie Policy to learn how they can be disabled. By disabling cookies, some features of the site will not work.