SRC grows to include 17 staff and 40 member companies; and holds its first Executive Technical Advisory Board (ETAB) Summer Study.


  • The ETAB summer study produces a set of ten-year research goals meant as a guide for the SRC research program. Quantitative goals are set for each of the three SRC Science Areas—Microstructure Sciences, Design Sciences, and Manufacturing Sciences. Not only do these goals present daunting challenges to university researchers, they also engender significant discussion in the research community as to feasibility. The 1984 SRC research goals represent the first collective industry effort to establish definitive long-term technology targets and would lead to the International Technology Roadmap for Semiconductors.
For specific research areas and results, please see this year's annual report. »

1984 Officers

  • George M. Scalise, Board Chairman
  • Larry W. Sumney, President
  • Richard D. Alberts, Secretary (Jan - Jun)
  • Ralph E. Darby, Secretary (Sep - Dec)

1984 Board of Directors

  • George M. Scalise, Chairman Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
  • John W. Lacey Control Data Corporation
  • Jeffrey C. Kalb Digital Equipment Corporation
  • Jon E. Cornell Harris Corporation
  • Fred N. Schwettmann Hewlett-Packard Company
  • Brian Hegarty Honeywell Incorporated
  • Paul R. Low IBM Corporation
  • Eugene J. Flath Intel Corporation
  • Michael J. Callahan Monolith Technologies Corporation
  • Bob J. Jenkins Motorola, Incorporated
  • Gregory Harrison National Semiconductor Corporation
  • Larry W. Sumney Semiconductor Research Corporation
  • Carmelo J. Santoro Silicon Systems, Incorporated
  • Tim B. Smith Texas Instruments Incorporated

1984 SRC Senior Staff

  • Larry W. Sumney, President
  • Richard D. Alberts, Senior Vice President for Policy & Planning
  • Robert M. Burger, Staff Vice President for Research

4819 Emperor Blvd, Suite 300 Durham, NC 27703 Voice: (919) 941-9400 Fax: (919) 941-9450