Manufacturing science research becomes a focal area for program growth.


  • The SRC Speakers Bureau begins operation. Over 40 university researchers under contract to the SRC are made available as visiting lecturers to member company locations. Eighty topics are included.
  • A total of 43 universities are participating in the performance of over 200 research tasks.
For specific research areas and results, please see this year's annual report. »

1985 Officers

  • George M. Scalise, Board Chairman
  • Larry W. Sumney, CEO
  • Ralph E. Darby, Secretary

1985 Board of Directors

  • George M. Scalise, Chairman Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
  • Klaus D. Bowers AT&T
  • Jeffrey C. Kalb Digital Equipment Corporation
  • James E. Dykes General Electric Company
  • Robert J. McMillin General Motors Corporation
  • Jon E. Cornell Harris Corporation
  • Fred N. Schwettmann Hewlett-Packard Company
  • Brian Hegarty Honeywell Incorporated
  • Paul R. Low IBM Corporation
  • Gerhard H. Parker Intel Corporation
  • Michael J. Callahan Monolith Technologies Corporation
  • Paul A. Tierney Monsanto Company
  • Bob J. Jenkins Motorola, Incorporated
  • Gregory Harrison National Semiconductor Corporation
  • Larry W. Sumney Semiconductor Research Corporation
  • G. R. Mohan Rao Texas Instruments Incorporated

1985 SRC Senior Staff

  • Larry W. Sumney, President & CEO
  • Robert M. Burger, Vice President and Chief Scientist

4819 Emperor Blvd, Suite 300 Durham, NC 27703 Voice: (919) 941-9400 Fax: (919) 941-9450