SRC has 35 member companies; government participation is initiated.


  • The SRC Fellowship Program begins support in the fall of 1986 for 19 graduate students seeking advanced degrees in microelectronics. The goal of this program is to increase graduate student support (beyond that already going to graduate students associated with SRC contracts) in the specific areas of microelectronics that are of most interest to SRC companies.
For specific research areas and results, please see this year's annual report. »

1986 Officers

  • George M. Scalise, Board Chairman
  • Larry W. Sumney, CEO
  • Ralph E. Darby, Secretary

1986 Board of Directors

  • George M. Scalise, Chairman Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
  • Klaus D. Bowers AT&T
  • Jeffrey C. Kalb Digital Equipment Corporation
  • James E. Dykes General Electric Company
  • Robert J. McMillin General Motors Corporation
  • Jon E. Cornell Harris Corporation
  • Fred N. Schwettmann HP Inc.
  • Paul R. Low IBM Corporation
  • Gerhard H. Parker Intel Corporation
  • Bob J. Jenkins Motorola Incorporated
  • E. Randy Parker National Semiconductor Corporation
  • Larry W. Sumney Semiconductor Research Corporation
  • Carmelo J. Santoro Silicon Systems, Incorporated
  • Joseph S. Mathias Sperry Corporation
  • G. R. Mohan Rao Texas Instruments Incorporated
  • Gaynor N. Kelley Perkin-Elmer Corporation
  • Arnold Miller Xerox Corporation

1986 SRC Senior Staff

  • Larry W. Sumney, President & CEO
  • Robert M. Burger, Vice President and Chief Scientist

4819 Emperor Blvd, Suite 300 Durham, NC 27703 Voice: (919) 941-9400 Fax: (919) 941-9450

Important Information for the SRC website. This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our cookies. If you are not happy with the use of these cookies, please review our Cookie Policy to learn how they can be disabled. By disabling cookies, some features of the site will not work.