With the website launch, SRC provides more immediate access to program updates, research results, and upcoming events.


  • The first Aristotle Award is given to Dr. Steven Director, recognizing outstanding teaching in its broadest sense, especially during the research project. Through inspiring educators like Dr. Director, SRC is developing the human resources of our industry.
  • SRC launches several initiatives to address some of the technical challenges members must overcome to sustain the National Technology Roadmap for Semiconductors (NTRS) schedule.
    • Center for Advanced Interconnect Science and Technology (CAIST) — Based at the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Troy, NY, this new five-year joint venture with the state of New York coordinates research aimed at addressing the critical new interconnect material systems needs of SRC members.
    • SRC/NSF ERC in Environmentally Benign Semiconductor Manufacturing (CEBM) — This unique partnership studies the environmental, health and safety aspects of the semiconductor manufacturing process.
    • SRC/DARPA Advanced Lithography Initiative and Network — This four-year joint venture with the Defense Advanced Projects Agency (DARPA) seeks to identify promising approaches to lithography for the generations of devices requiring feature sizes below 100 nm. Members may be able to use the results to reduce risks associated with prototype decisions.
For specific research areas and results, please see this year's annual report. »

1996 Officers

  • Charles Carinalli, Board Chairman (Jan - Aug)
  • C. Mark Melliar-Smith, Board Chairman (Sep - Dec)
  • Larry W. Sumney, CEO
  • Linda L. Gardner, Secretary

1996 Board of Directors

  • Donald L. Wollesen Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
  • Thomas F. Gannon Digital Equipment Corporation
  • Walter Class Eaton Corporation
  • Bruce C. Burkey Eastman Kodak Company
  • Dyer A. Matlock Harris Corporation
  • George E. Bodway HP Inc.
  • Michael Polcari IBM Corporation
  • Sunlin Chou Intel Corporation
  • Joseph M. Zelayeta LSI Corporation
  • C. Mark Melliar-Smith, Chairman (Sep - Dec) Lucent Technologies
  • Owen P. Williams Motorola Incorporated
  • Charles Carinalli, Chairman (Jan - Aug) National Semiconductor Corporation
  • Court Skinner National Semiconductor Corporation
  • Claudine Simson NORTEL
  • Michael D. Fitzpatrick Northrop Grumman
  • Richard S. Hill Novellus Systems, Inc.
  • Larry W. Sumney Semiconductor Research Corporation
  • Yoshio Nishi Texas Instruments Incorporated

1996 SRC Senior Staff

  • Larry W. Sumney, President & CEO
  • Robert M. Burger, Vice President and Chief Scientist (Jan - Mar)
  • Ralph K. Cavin, Vice President, Research Operations
  • James F. Freedman, Vice President, Research Integrations & Technology Transfer
  • Peter W.J. Verhofstadt, Vice President, Director, Design Sciences

4819 Emperor Blvd, Suite 300 Durham, NC 27703 Voice: (919) 941-9400 Fax: (919) 941-9450

Important Information for the SRC website. This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our cookies. If you are not happy with the use of these cookies, please review our Cookie Policy to learn how they can be disabled. By disabling cookies, some features of the site will not work.