SRC celebrates 15 years of innovation. The Microelectronics Advanced Research Corporation (MARCO), a research organization emphasizing the elimination of current technological barriers by seeking more revolutionary approaches, is created as a subsidiary of SRC to launch the Focus Center Research Program.


  • Focus Center Research Program (FCRP) is established to conduct innovative, multi-university research in semiconductor technology with a horizon of eight-plus years. FCRP targets the intractable challenges in semiconductor-based technology on behalf of its Sponsors, which include the Department of Defense (DARPA), the microelectronics industry and the defense contractor community. FCRP research employs a hierarchy of approaches for integrated electronics, ranging from nanomaterials, novel devices and circuit techniques, to system level design methodology including new chip architectures, all the way to full system platforms and multi-scale systems design.
  • SRC partners with the SIA and SEMATECH to update the National Technology Roadmap for Semiconductors (NTRS); new opportunities for long-term university research programs responsive to strategic industry needs are identified and launched.
  • SRC and the National Science Foundation (NSF) launch a research initiative directed at the development of innovative new operational methods that will enable factory performance to keep pace with ongoing improvements in equipment and processes.
  • 750 students are supported by SRC, of which 104 graduate with a Ph.D. or Master’s Degree; 40 Fellowships and four Master’s Scholarships are put in place.
  • The annual Graduate Fellowship Program Conference, co-sponsored by Intel Corporation, is held in Santa Clara, CA. Nine invited papers and 37 poster sessions are presented. The highlight of the two-day conference was the keynote address by Dr. Gordon Moore.
  • SRC adds 12 newly issued U.S. Patents to its intellectual property portfolio, bringing the SRC’s total number of issued U.S. Patents to 150.
For specific research areas and results, please see this year's annual report. »

1997 Officers

  • Donald L. Wollesen, Board Chairman
  • Larry W. Sumney, CEO
  • Linda L. Gardner, Secretary

1997 Board of Directors

  • Donald L. Wollesen, Chairman Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
  • Thomas F. Gannon Digital Equipment Corporation
  • David L. Burkey Digital Equipment Corporation
  • Walter Class Eaton Corporation
  • Dyer A. Matlock Harris Corporation
  • George E. Bodway HP Inc.
  • Michael Polcari IBM Corporation
  • Sunlin Chou Intel Corporation
  • Richard D. Schinella LSI Corporation
  • Mark R. Pinto Lucent Technologies
  • Owen P. Williams (Jan - Aug) Motorola Incorporated
  • Sherry J. Gillespie (Sep - Dec) Motorola Incorporated
  • Court Skinner (Jan - Mar) National Semiconductor Corporation
  • Gobi R. Padmanabhan (Apr - Dec) National Semiconductor Corporation
  • Michael D. Fitzpatrick Northrop Grumman
  • Richard S. Hill Novellus Systems, Inc.
  • C. Mark Melliar-Smith SEMATECH
  • Larry W. Sumney Semiconductor Research Corporation
  • Yoshio Nishi (Jan - Oct) Texas Instruments Incorporated
  • Ashwin Shah (Nov - Dec) Texas Instruments Incorporated

1997 SRC Senior Staff

  • Larry W. Sumney, President & CEO
  • Ralph K. Cavin, Vice President, Research Operations
  • Dinesh A. Mehta, Vice President, Administrative Operations and Strategic Initiatives
  • Peter W.J. Verhofstadt, Executive Vice President, and Managing Director, MARCO

4819 Emperor Blvd, Suite 300 Durham, NC 27703 Voice: (919) 941-9400 Fax: (919) 941-9450

Important Information for the SRC website. This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our cookies. If you are not happy with the use of these cookies, please review our Cookie Policy to learn how they can be disabled. By disabling cookies, some features of the site will not work.