Erich Bloch, founding chairman of SRC, receives SIA’s Robert N. Noyce Award—the industry’s highest honor for leadership.


  • SRC funds $37 million in contracts and grants to 63 universities in the US and Canada.
  • Financial support is provided for 937 students, of which 145 graduated with the Ph.D. or Master’s degree.
  • The first "SRC Copper IC Design Challenge" is created with Novellus, the UMC Group and SpeedFam/IPEC.
For specific research areas and results, please see this year's annual report. »

1999 Officers

  • Michael Polcari, Board Chairman
  • Larry W. Sumney, CEO
  • Clark McFadden, Secretary

1999 Board of Directors

  • Donald L. Wollesen Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
  • Dan Casaletto Compaq Computer Corp.
  • David N. Nichols Eastman Kodak Company
  • Walter Class Eaton Corporation
  • George E. Bodway (Jan - Nov) HP Inc.
  • Hans Stork (Dec) HP Inc.
  • Michael Polcari, Chairman IBM Corporation
  • Mark R. Pinto Lucent Technologies
  • Richard D. Schinella LSI Corporation
  • Sunlin Chou Intel Corporation
  • Michael R. Jayne (Jun - Dec) Intersil Corporation
  • Sherry J. Gillespie Motorola Incorporated
  • Gobi R. Padmanabhan (Jan - Jul) National Semiconductor Corporation
  • Mohan Yegnashankaran (Aug - Dec) National Semiconductor Corporation
  • Michael D. Fitzpatrick Northrop Grumman
  • Richard S. Hill Novellus Systems, Inc.
  • Larry W. Sumney Semiconductor Research Corporation
  • Yoshio Nishi Texas Instruments Incorporated
  • C. Mark Melliar-Smith SEMATECH
  • George M. Scalise Semiconductor Industry Association

1999 SRC Senior Staff

  • Larry W. Sumney, President & CEO
  • Ralph K. Cavin, Vice President, Research Operations
  • Egbert D. (Sonny) Maynard, Executive Vice President, Government Affairs
  • Dinesh A. Mehta, Vice President, Business Operations and Strategic Initiatives
  • Peter W.J. Verhofstadt, Executive Vice President & Chief Scientist

4819 Emperor Blvd, Suite 300 Durham, NC 27703 Voice: (919) 941-9400 Fax: (919) 941-9450

Important Information for the SRC website. This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our cookies. If you are not happy with the use of these cookies, please review our Cookie Policy to learn how they can be disabled. By disabling cookies, some features of the site will not work.