The Board authorizes SRC to expand research funding to non-North American universities, leverage government funding worldwide, and pursue aggressive recruitment of international companies, thus beginning the process of complete globalization.


  • The pilot phase of the first two Focus Centers managed by MARCO (a subsidiary of SRC) is successfully completed; two new Focus Centers will be initiated in 2001.
  • TECHCON 2000, our biennial technical conference is a phenomenal success, showcasing the best of our research and students performing the research.
  • Dr. Farhang Shadman, Director of the NSF/SRC-funded Engineering Research Center for Benign Semiconductor Manufacturing at the University of Arizona, receives the first-ever SRC Landmark Innovation Award; the award was presented by Jack Kilby, who was selected to receive the Nobel Prize in 2000.
  • SRC’s website is completely redesigned and internationalized. With more online collaboration capability, flexibility and other inventive features, the website better serves our students and global community.
  • Members Novellus Systems and UMC, with additional support from SpeedFam/IPEC, sponsor SRC’s first design contest. The "Copper IC Design Challenge" raises the level of interest and knowledge in the area of IC design within the universities and increases interest in designing with copper interconnects.
  • An increased emphasis is placed on universities and students in order to maintain a strong pipeline of M.S. and Ph.D. students; this year a total of 1091 students are supported by SRC.
For specific research areas and results, please see this year's annual report. »

2000 Officers

  • Sunlin Chou, Board Chairman
  • Larry W. Sumney, CEO
  • Clark McFadden, Secretary

2000 Board of Directors

  • Craig Sander Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
  • Dan Casaletto Compaq Computer Corp.
  • David N. Nichols Eastman Kodak Company
  • Walter Class Eaton Corporation
  • Hans Stork HP Inc.
  • John Warlaumont IBM Corporation
  • Sunlin Chou, Chairman Intel Corporation
  • Michael R. Jayne Intersil Corporation
  • Richard D. Schinella LSI Corporation
  • Mark R. Pinto Lucent Technologies
  • Sherry J. Gillespie Motorola Incorporated
  • Mohan Yegnashankaran National Semiconductor Corporation
  • Michael D. Fitzpatrick Northrop Grumman
  • Richard S. Hill Novellus Systems, Inc.
  • Larry W. Sumney Semiconductor Research Corporation
  • Yoshio Nishi Texas Instruments Incorporated

2000 SRC Senior Staff

  • Larry W. Sumney, President & CEO
  • Ralph K. Cavin, Vice President, Research Operations
  • Egbert D. (Sonny) Maynard, Executive Vice President, Government Affairs
  • Dinesh A. Mehta, Vice President, Business Operations and Strategic Initiatives
  • Peter W.J. Verhofstadt, Executive Vice President & Chief Scientist

4819 Emperor Blvd, Suite 300 Durham, NC 27703 Voice: (919) 941-9400 Fax: (919) 941-9450

Important Information for the SRC website. This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our cookies. If you are not happy with the use of these cookies, please review our Cookie Policy to learn how they can be disabled. By disabling cookies, some features of the site will not work.