SRC celebrates 20 years of collaboration, innovation and vision—and of being integral to advancing the U.S. silicon microelectronics industry.


  • Member companies assign Industrial Liaisons to work with researchers on a record percentage of tasks, a strong indicator of the ongoing efforts to derive value from the technology and to mentor the students toward a rewarding career in the industry.
  • SRC successfully launches an e-meeting initiative to better enable remote-attendance at meetings by utilizing state-of-the-art teleconferencing and web-based solutions.
  • The SRC website sees a 22% increase in logins and a 48% increase in page hits over 2001 usage data. The number of individuals within the SRC community that logged into the site in 2002 increased to over 3,100 in 2002 — an increase of nearly 20% over 2001.
  • A new Center for Advanced Interconnect Science and Technology is formed to develop innovative approaches to ameliorate the increasing impact of interconnects on integrated circuit performance.
  • Over 1,100 students participate in SRC-funded research in 2002. Of the graduates, about 70% went to work for SRC member organizations or are undergraduate or master's students continuing to higher degrees, further strengthening the links within the SRC community.
  • The first Simon Karecki Award was made from the Simon Karecki Endowment. This award recognizes outstanding student performance through the SRC/NSF Center for Environmentally Benign Semiconductor Manufacturing, centered at the University of Arizona.
For specific research areas and results, please see this year's annual report. »

2002 Officers

  • Mark R. Pinto, Board Chairman
  • Larry W. Sumney, CEO
  • Clark McFadden, Secretary

2002 Board of Directors

  • Craig Sander Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
  • Mark R. Pinto, Chairman Agere Systems
  • Walter Class Axcelis Technologies, Inc.
  • Don Harbert (Jan - Aug) Compaq Computer Corp.
  • David N. Nichols Eastman Kodak Company
  • John Warlaumont IBM Corporation
  • Sunlin Chou Intel Corporation
  • Richard D. Schinella LSI Corporation
  • Walden C. (Wally) Rhines Siemens EDA
  • Sherry J. Gillespie (Jan - Apr) Motorola Incorporated
  • Pawitter Mangat (Jun - Dec) Motorola Incorporated
  • Mohan Yegnashankaran National Semiconductor Corporation
  • Wilbert van den Hoek Novellus Systems, Inc.
  • Larry W. Sumney Semiconductor Research Corporation
  • Yoshio Nishi (Jan - Jun) Texas Instruments Incorporated
  • Hans Stork Texas Instruments Incorporated
  • Fu-Tai Liou (Jan - Mar) United Microelectronics Corp.
  • Frank C. Wen (Apr - Dec) United Microelectronics Corp.

2002 SRC Senior Staff

  • Larry W. Sumney, President & CEO
  • Ralph K. Cavin, Vice President, Research Operations
  • Egbert D. (Sonny) Maynard, Executive Vice President, Government Affairs
  • Dinesh A. Mehta, Vice President, Business Operations & Strategic Initiatives

4819 Emperor Blvd, Suite 300 Durham, NC 27703 Voice: (919) 941-9400 Fax: (919) 941-9450

Important Information for the SRC website. This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our cookies. If you are not happy with the use of these cookies, please review our Cookie Policy to learn how they can be disabled. By disabling cookies, some features of the site will not work.