SRC is awarded the prestigious 2005 U.S. National Medal of Technology, the highest honor for technological achievement bestowed by the President of the United States on America’s leading innovators.


  • As an Award recipient, SRC was recognized for building the world’s largest and most successful university research force to support the rapid growth and advance of the semiconductor industry; for proving the concept of collaborative research as the first high-tech research consortium; and for creating the concept and methodology that evolved into the International Technology Roadmap for Semiconductors.
  • SRC celebrates 25 years of indispensable collaboration in the industry.
  • Global Research Collaboration (GRC), in collaboration with Texas Instruments and the State of Texas, forms a new research center in analog integrated circuits at the University of Texas, Dallas.
  • NRI forms a new first-of-a-kind partnership with the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) to advance its research on post-CMOS devices, both by expanding the existing NRI centers and launching new efforts.
  • To provide a mechanism for SRC to respond to niche research interests outside the purview of its three primary research programs, the Board has authorized the formation of a new program entity called Topical Research Collaboration (TRC); a key feature is that companies that do not currently belong to GRC, FCRP or NRI can participate in various TRCs to assist in meeting research needs.
For specific research areas and results, please see this year's annual report. »

2007 Officers

  • Craig Sander, Board Chairman
  • Larry W. Sumney, CEO
  • Clark McFadden, Secretary

2007 Board of Directors

  • Craig Sander, Chairman Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
  • Hans Stork (Nov - Dec) Applied Materials, Inc.
  • Ivan (Skip) Berry Axcelis Technologies, Inc.
  • Sam Angelos HP Inc.
  • John Warlaumont (Jan - Jun) IBM Corporation
  • Tze-Chiang (T.C.) Chen (Jul - Dec) IBM Corporation
  • Michael C. Mayberry Intel Corporation
  • Bob Payne (Jan - Jul) LSI Corporation
  • Claudine Simson LSI Corporation
  • Walden C. (Wally) Rhines Siemens EDA
  • Gregg Bartlett Freescale Semiconductor, Inc.
  • Wilbert van den Hoek Novellus Systems, Inc.
  • Larry W. Sumney Semiconductor Research Corporation
  • Hans Stork (Jan - Nov) Texas Instruments Incorporated
  • Robert R. Doering (Dec) Texas Instruments Incorporated

2007 SRC Senior Staff

  • Larry W. Sumney, President & CEO
  • Steven Hillenius, Vice President, SRC & Executive Director GRC
  • Dinesh A. Mehta, Executive Vice President, Business Operations & Strategic Initiatives
  • Elizabeth (Betsy) Weitzman, Vice President, SRC & Executive Director FCRP

4819 Emperor Blvd, Suite 300 Durham, NC 27703 Voice: (919) 941-9400 Fax: (919) 941-9450

Important Information for the SRC website. This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our cookies. If you are not happy with the use of these cookies, please review our Cookie Policy to learn how they can be disabled. By disabling cookies, some features of the site will not work.