FCRP Professor Receives 2011 IEEE Pioneer Award in Nanotechnology


FENA Prof. Balandin is selected for Pioneer Award in Nanotechnology for 2011

FENA member Dr. Alexander A. Balandin was selected to receive the IEEE Pioneer of Nanotechnology Award for the year of 2011. Dr. Balandin is professor of electrical engineering and founding chair of materials science & engineering at the University of California – Riverside On April 15, the decision was announced by the IEEE Nanotechnology Council. The IEEE Pioneer Award in Nanotechnology recognizes individuals who by virtue of initiating new areas of research or engineering have had a significant and transformative impact on the field of nanotechnology. The Pioneer Award is administered by the Nanotechnology Council, which consists of 21 IEEE member societies. The award recognizes individuals whose technical achievements go beyond the borders of individual technical societies. The main considerations for selecting the award recipients include distinctive long-term technical achievements, research leadership, innovation, and impact on nanotechnology and engineering.

Professor Balandin is recognized for his “pioneering contributions to nanoscale phonon transport with applications in nanodevices, graphene devices, thermoelectric and thermal management of advanced electronics”. Among the previous recipients of this prestigious award were such internationally renowned scientists as Dr. Phaedon Avouris, The Nanoscale Science and Technology Group Leader at IBM T.J. Watson Research Centre, New York; Dr. Sajeev John, University Professor and Canada Research Chair at the University of Toronto; Dr. Mark Reed, Harold Hodgkinson Professor of Engineering and Applied Science at Yale University; Dr Pallab Bhattacharya, Charles M. Vest Distinguished University Professor of Engineering at the University of Michigan; and other distinguished professors.

Professor Balandin made important contributions to the study of confined phonon transport in nanostructures and development of the phonon engineering concept for applications in thermal management of nanoscale electronic devices and renewable energy conversion. In 2008, Balandin research group discovered an unusually high intrinsic thermal conductivity of graphene and explained it theoretically. In order to perform the first study of heat conduction in graphene Balandin invented a new optothermal experimental technique based on Raman spectroscopy. These results opened up a new area in graphene research and led to graphene’s applications in thermal management.

Each year, the IEEE Nanotechnology Council grants one or two Pioneer Awards. In the latter case, one award recipient is selected among academics and one – among researchers employed by industry or government organizations. Traditionally, the awardees are invited to give a plenary talk, receive honorarium and a commemorative plaque at the IEEE International Conference on Nanotechnology (NANO). Professor Balandin will deliver his plenary address and receive recognitions at the IEEE NANO 2011 Conference in Portland, Oregon on August 15, 2011.

External Links:

IEEE Nano 2011 – 11th International Conference on Nanotechnology: ieeenano2011.org

Balandin Nano-Device Research (NDL) laboratory: ndl.ee.ucr.edu/

4819 Emperor Blvd, Suite 300 Durham, NC 27703 Voice: (919) 941-9400 Fax: (919) 941-9450

Important Information for the SRC website. This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our cookies. If you are not happy with the use of these cookies, please review our Cookie Policy to learn how they can be disabled. By disabling cookies, some features of the site will not work.