TECHCON ’93—SRC’s third national research conference—attracts 450 scientists and engineers from industry, university and government.


  • SRC leverages participant research dollars by funding and managing more than $30 million in research contracts at 62 major North American universities and research institutions.
  • SRC supports 771 students at 56 universities.
  • Sixteen patents are issued — a 35% increase over the total number of patents issued in the previous ten years.
  • MIT is designated SRC’s sixth Center of Excellence, addressing technical challenges in micro-system technologies.
For specific research areas and results, please see this year's annual report. »

1993 Officers

  • William T. Siegle, Board Chairman
  • Larry W. Sumney, CEO
  • Ralph E. Darby, Secretary

1993 Board of Directors

  • William T. Siegle, Chairman Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
  • C. Mark Melliar-Smith AT&T
  • Lester Wilkinson Delco Electronics Corporation
  • Thomas F. Gannon Digital Equipment Corporation
  • Rajinder P. Khosla Eastman Kodak Company
  • Walter Class Eaton Corporation
  • Thomas W. Halloran Etec Systems, Inc.
  • Jeffrey D. Peters Harris Corporation
  • Fred N. Schwettmann Hewlett-Packard Company
  • Daniel J. Fleming IBM Corporation
  • Gerhard H. Parker Intel Corporation
  • Joseph M. Zelayeta LSI Corporation
  • Owen P. Williams Motorola, Incorporated
  • Charles Carinalli National Semiconductor Corporation
  • Larry W. Sumney Semiconductor Research Corporation
  • Pallab K. Chatterjee Texas Instruments Incorporated

1993 SRC Senior Staff

  • Larry W. Sumney, President & CEO
  • Robert M. Burger, Vice President and Chief Scientist
  • James F. Freedman, Vice President, Research Integration & Technology Transfer
  • William C. (Bill) Holton, Vice President, Research Operations

4819 Emperor Blvd, Suite 300 Durham, NC 27703 Voice: (919) 941-9400 Fax: (919) 941-9450