SRC works to expand the Education Alliance to leverage past successes and broaden its impact, increasing the ability to attract and support a wide diversity of students at various levels of education.


  • SRC begins to actively engage in the application of the Topical Research Collaborations (TRC) model by establishing two distinct research efforts: one centered around Sandia National Laboratory focusing on nano-engineering, and the second focused on energy research.
  • Two new university-based research centers are launched: GRC’s Texas Analog Center of Excellence (TxACE), headquartered at the University of Texas at Dallas, and NRI’s Midwest Institute for Nanoelectronics Discovery (MIND), headquartered at Notre Dame, a partnership between SRC, NIST, the state of Indiana and the City of South Bend — the first time a city has contributed to an SRC program.
  • TECHCON 2008 marks the tenth anniversary of the conference and proves to be one of the most successful events to date, with 144 student-presented technical papers and posters representing a broad cross-section of SRC-funded research. Total attendance reached 346, including 138 industry participants, 18 faculty, 158 students and 30 others (staff, etc.).
  • Over 1,500 students participate in SRC research across GRC, FCRP and NRI, with 204 completing Master’s or Ph.D. degrees.
For specific research areas and results, please see this year's annual report. »

2008 Officers

  • Michael C. Mayberry, Board Chairman
  • Larry W. Sumney, CEO
  • Clark McFadden, Secretary

2008 Board of Directors

  • Craig Sander Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
  • Hans Stork Applied Materials, Inc.
  • Ivan (Skip) Berry Axcelis Technologies, Inc.
  • Gregg Bartlett Freescale Semiconductor, Inc.
  • Sam Angelos HP Inc.
  • Tze-Chiang (T.C.) Chen IBM Corporation
  • Michael C. Mayberry, Chairman Intel Corporation
  • Claudine Simson LSI Corporation
  • Walden C. (Wally) Rhines Siemens EDA
  • Wilbert van den Hoek Novellus Systems, Inc.
  • Larry W. Sumney Semiconductor Research Corporation
  • Robert R. Doering (Jan - Mar) Texas Instruments Incorporated
  • Venu B. Menon (Apr - Dec) Texas Instruments Incorporated
  • Masayuki Tomoyasu Tokyo Electron Limited (TEL)

2008 SRC Senior Staff

  • Larry W. Sumney, President & CEO
  • Steven Hillenius, Executive Vice President, SRC & Executive Director GRC
  • Dinesh A. Mehta, Executive Vice President, Business Operations & Strategic Initiatives (Jan - Aug)
  • Elizabeth (Betsy) Weitzman, Executive Vice President, SRC & Executive Director FCRP

4819 Emperor Blvd, Suite 300 Durham, NC 27703 Voice: (919) 941-9400 Fax: (919) 941-9450

Important Information for the SRC website. This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our cookies. If you are not happy with the use of these cookies, please review our Cookie Policy to learn how they can be disabled. By disabling cookies, some features of the site will not work.