SRC Competitiveness Foundation created as a subsidiary of SRC (and becomes the SRC Education Alliance - SRCEA - in 1993).


  • Designed to promote a free exchange of technology, SRC holds its first general technical conference, TECHCON ’88, in October. The three-day event draws over 650 enthusiastic participants from industry, government and the university community, including many of the graduate students performing research under SRC contracts.
  • The National Advisory Committee on Semiconductors (NACS) is created as a direct result of efforts by the SRC. Its purpose is to devise and promulgate a national semiconductor strategy designed to restore the leadership position of the U.S. semiconductor industry.
  • SRC creates the Competitiveness Foundation, another dimension of the industry’s cooperative efforts whose focus is on educating a capable work force to provide leadership for a competitive national technology base.
  • Research Programs produce 22 invention disclosures, 12 new patent applications and one patent. More than 850 new research reports and papers are generated for distribution to member companies.
  • Nine SEMATECH Centers of Excellence are designated, focusing on areas of special interest in the semiconductor manufacturing technologies, significantly expanding SRC research.
  • Research programs support over 450 graduate students; of the 224 completing their graduate education, well over one-half would begin work for member companies.
For specific research areas and results, please see this year's annual report. »

1988 Officers

  • Robert J. McMillin, Board Chairman
  • Larry W. Sumney, CEO
  • Ralph E. Darby, Secretary

1988 Board of Directors

  • Michael J. Thompson AT&T
  • Michael J. Callahan Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
  • Robert B. Palmer Digital Equipment Corporation
  • Samuel A. Musa E-Systems, Incorporated
  • Kenneth A. Pickar, Vice Chairman General Electric Company
  • Robert J. McMillin, Chairman General Motors Corporation
  • Thomas J. Sanders Harris Corporation
  • Fred N. Schwettmann HP Inc.
  • Sanford L. Kane IBM Corporation
  • Gerhard H. Parker Intel Corporation
  • Bob J. Jenkins Motorola Incorporated
  • E. Randy Parker National Semiconductor Corporation
  • Larry W. Sumney Semiconductor Research Corporation
  • G. R. Mohan Rao Texas Instruments Incorporated
  • Tony Jurvetson Varian Semiconductor Equipment Assoc.
  • Gene Strull Westinghouse

1988 SRC Senior Staff

  • Larry W. Sumney, President & CEO
  • Robert M. Burger, Vice President and Chief Scientist

4819 Emperor Blvd, Suite 300 Durham, NC 27703 Voice: (919) 941-9400 Fax: (919) 941-9450

Important Information for the SRC website. This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our cookies. If you are not happy with the use of these cookies, please review our Cookie Policy to learn how they can be disabled. By disabling cookies, some features of the site will not work.