2001 Technical Excellence Award

Mark Lundstrom
Mark Lundstrom

The following is the text of the presentation speech delivered by SRC Board of Director's Chairman, Mark Pinto, Agere Systems, at the awards ceremony held during the Board of Directors meeting, November 7, 2002.

The Technical Excellence Award is given annually to researchers who, over a period of years, have demonstrated creative, consistent contributions to the field of semiconductor research, who are ground breakers and leaders in their fields, and who are regarded as model collaborators with their colleagues in the member community.

Professors Supriyo Datta and Mark Lundstrom of Purdue University are this year's Technical Excellence Awardees for their work in the area Device Physics and Simulation of nanoscale MOSFETs.

Dr. Datta has pioneered the application of a Green's Function that captures quantum transport to the modeling of semiconductor devices. Concurrently, Dr. Lundstrom pioneered a simple, but very physical scattering model that provides new insight to the physical operation of nanoscale MOSFETs.

The work is widely recognized in the device research community as one of fundamental importance and lasting value. The work continues to have a significant impact on our understanding of the operation of scaled devices and has provided the first useable simulation tools for investigating transport effects.

The recent development and launch of nanoHUB, which makes their simulations tools accessible (and operable) through the internet is an indication of their commitment to technology transfer. They make frequent on-site visits to member companies and recently hosted a 2-day short course in the use of the nanoHUB and to describe the numerical methods that it employs.

Funding for Dr. Lundstrom's work titled "Physics & Modeling of Heterostructure Semiconductor Devices" began in 1983, Dr. Datta joined the research team three years later in 1986. During this 20th anniversary year we are honored to recognize these professors who have made multiple contributions to the semiconductor industry during the past 20 years.

It is with great pleasure that on behalf of the SRC Board of Directors, I award the 2001 Technical Excellence Award to Professors Supriyo Datta and Mark Lundstrom.

4819 Emperor Blvd, Suite 300 Durham, NC 27703 Voice: (919) 941-9400 Fax: (919) 941-9450

Important Information for the SRC website. This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our cookies. If you are not happy with the use of these cookies, please review our Cookie Policy to learn how they can be disabled. By disabling cookies, some features of the site will not work.