Aristotle Award

A primary goal of SRC is to produce advanced degree students with the capability to work effectively in the semiconductor industry. The Aristotle Award was created by the SRC Board of Directors in March 1995 to recognize supported faculty whose deep commitment to the educational experience of SRC students has had a profound and continuing impact on their professional performance and consequently a significant impact for members over a long period of time. The Award is intended to acknowledge outstanding teaching in its broadest sense, emphasizing student advising and teaching during the research project thereby contributing to the maturation of the student.

A call for nominations is issued in January of each year. Nominations are accepted from the SRC community for faculty who have been funded under SRC contract research for a period of at least six years. The nominations originate from various sources, including the SRC Board of Directors, Technical Advisory Boards, mentors, university researchers, government agencies that participate in the SRC research program, and alumni of the SRC graduate student program. During the June Board of Directors meeting, an Awards Committee comprising of industry and academic participants review the nominations based on the following four equally-weighted selection criteria: innovations in student advising, provision of learning experiences for students and deployment of statistical methodology, creation of an environment that encourages development in leadership skills, and student exposure to and interaction with industry. Finalists and nominators are then notified of the Board of Directors' decision in July, and the Aristotle Award is presented in the fall.

Past Awards

2019 Aristotle Award Winner - Margaret Martonosi

2018 Aristotle Award Winner - Joerg Appenzeller

2017 Aristotle Award Winner - Jan Rabaey

2016 Aristotle Award Winner - Tsu-Jae King Liu

2015 Aristotle Award Winner - Kaushik Roy

2014 Aristotle Award Winner - Dimitri Antoniadis

2013 Aristotle Award Winner- James Harris

2012 Aristotle Award Winner - Andrew Neureuther

2011 Aristotle Award Winner - Bob Dutton

2010 Aristotle Award Winner - Mark Lundstrom

2009 Aristotle Award Winner - Chenming Hu

2008 Aristotle Award Winner - Larry PIleggi

2007 Aristotle Award Winner - Wojceich Maly

2006 Aristotle Award Winner - Mark Law

2005 Aristotle Award Winner - David Allstot

2004 Aristotle Award Winner - James Meindl

2003 Aristotle Award Winner - Jimmie J. Wortman

2002 Aristotle Award Winner - Alberto Sangiovanni-Vincentelli

2001 Aristotle Award Winners - Rob Rutenbar and Gerald Neudeck

2000 Aristotle Award Winner - Rafael Reif

1999 Aristotle Award Winner - Roxann Engelstad and Grant Willson

1998 Aristotle Award Winners - Franco Cerrina and Joseph Greene

1997 Aristotle Award Winner - Kensall Wise

1996 Aristotle Award Winner - Stephen Director

4819 Emperor Blvd, Suite 300 Durham, NC 27703 Voice: (919) 941-9400 Fax: (919) 941-9450

Important Information for the SRC website. This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our cookies. If you are not happy with the use of these cookies, please review our Cookie Policy to learn how they can be disabled. By disabling cookies, some features of the site will not work.