2021 Technical Excellence Award

Presented to Professor Arijit Raychowdhury from Georgia Tech

Dr. Arijit Raychowdhury is the leader in key innovative technologies for all-digital and digitally-assisted integrated linear regulators which are key enablers for fine-grain dynamic voltage and frequency scaling (DVFS), that can improve system-power efficiency in microprocessors and SoCs. Dr. Raychowdhury’s team not only demonstrated the feasibility of all-digital linear regulators, but also developed stability models that were successfully transferred to several member companies (Intel, IBM, Samsung, Qualcomm). More than 20 subsequent publications on integrated voltage regulators from Intel, IBM, AMD, Qualcomm, TSMC and Samsung in ISSCC, JSSC and VLSIC have cited Dr. Raychowdhury’s work as the first such demonstration.

Since 2013, Dr. Raychowdhury has led or been instrumental in 70 different research projects at SRC, across GRC and JUMP. As the leader of the Center for Brain-inspired Computing Enabling Autonomous Intelligence’s Neuromorphic Fabrics (CBRIC-T2), the program is developing the next generation of programmable hardware platforms for cognitive computing, seeking orders of magnitude improvement in energy efficiency by matching the underlying circuits and architectures to neural models of computation, and by abstracting and applying principles of information processing in the brain.

Prior to joining academia, Dr. Raychowdhury was a staff scientist at Intel's Circuit Research Labs for five years where he worked on mixed-signal and digital designs for energy-efficiency sensors and compute nodes. Before that, he was at Texas Instruments where he worked on developing the world’s first adaptive echo cancellation unit for DSL modems, which received the EDN industrial design award.

Dr. Raychowdhury holds more than 25 U.S. and international patents and has published over 150 articles in journals and refereed conferences. He and his students have won multiple best paper awards, fellowships and best thesis awards, including the IEEE/ACM Innovator of the year award at DAC 2018, Outstanding Junior Faculty award from Georgia Tech in 2018, Early career awards from Intel and NSF in 2014-2015and the SRC Technical Innovation Award in 2007. 

4819 Emperor Blvd, Suite 300 Durham, NC 27703 Voice: (919) 941-9400 Fax: (919) 941-9450

Important Information for the SRC website. This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. By continuing to use our site, you consent to our cookies. If you are not happy with the use of these cookies, please review our Cookie Policy to learn how they can be disabled. By disabling cookies, some features of the site will not work.